Museum Hours and Holiday Closures

 Archive Feature

Features Archive | Current Features
The Greatest 33
732 drivers have raced at the Indy 500. 100 drivers were selected as the top competitors of all time, and of those only 33 drivers were selected as the greatest drivers of all time. This year marks the Centennial anniversary of the start of the Indianapolis 500 race. Fans from around the world were asked to submit their favorite choices to determine ''The Greatest 33'' of their dream lineup of the 33 greatest drivers of all time. Sunday, May 15, the final lineup was announced at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The three four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500 - A.J.Foyt, Rick Mears, and Al Unser - will be starting from the front row of ''The Greatest 33'' after earning the most votes. Of course, Al Unser will not be the only Unser present in the top 33 drivers. Bobby Unser will be in the second row, followed by Al Unser Jr. in the fourth row. Only three of the current Indianapolis 500 competitors are among The Greatest 33, Helio Castroneves, Dario Franchiti, and Scott Dixon.
Source Unser Racing Museum
Author Seth McFarland
Date 2011-05-16
Features Archive | Current Features